Board Members

Alexander Payne, Board Member

Alexander Payne is an internationally respected director, screenwriter and producer, whose films include Citizen Ruth (1996), Election (1999), About Schmidt (2002), Sideways (2004), The Descendants (2011), Nebraska (2013) and Downsizing (2017).

Allison Anders, Board Member

Allison Anders is a renowned independent film director whose films include Gas Food Lodging (1992), Mi Vida Loca (1993), Grace of My Heart (1996) and Things Behind the Sun (2001). She has been awarded a MacArthur Genius Grant as well as a Peabody Award. In 2003, Anders became a Distinguished Professor at the University of California Santa Barbara, where she teaches in the Film And Media Studies Department one quarter each year.

Andrew Schwartz, Board Member

Andrew Schwartz, who now practices law in Los Angeles, has been an Administrative Judge and a trial attorney for the Equal Opportunity Employment Commission. He has had many years of experience in the nonprofit sector. He is a board member and past president of Hollywood Heritage, and a board member of Cinecon. He is the president of Piano Spheres, which puts on piano concerts in Los Angeles, and president of the board at Beyond Baroque, the poetry center in Venice, California.  He has had a lifelong passion for rare books as well as early cinema, and has been a prolific collector of early movie memorabilia for many years. 

Barbara Zicka Smith, Board Member

Barbara Zicka Smith co-founded the nonprofit American Cinematheque, a non-profit cultural institution dedicated to the exhibition of the moving image in all its forms and served as the organization’s Executive Director from 1992 to 2018.  Under her leadership, the Cinematheque acquired two permanent, historic homes in Graumann’s Egyptian Theater in Hollywood, California and the Aero Theater in Santa Monica, California, and came to be regarded as one of the premiere organizations of its kind.

Carley Michelle Hildebrand, Board Member

Carley Hildebrand is a social media specialist who has led social campaigns for major studios such as Warner Bros. and Lionsgate. Her nonprofit background includes PR for Jazz at Lincoln Center in New York, as well communications for the Directors Guild of America. As a classic film enthusiast, she has been a script writer for Turner Classic Movies and is currently working on a new biography on actor Montgomery Clift.

Cliff Retallick, Board Member and Musical Director 

Resident accompanist for the UCLA Film and Television Archive, the American Cinematheque’s Egyptian Theatre, the Silent Movie Theatre and Retroformat, Cliff has an MFA from UNC School Of The Arts in film music composition, and composes for film, television and the web.  His score for For The Love Of Their Brother, a 2016 documentary about events of 9/11 which premiered on National Public Television, won a silver Tele Award for original music.  Cliff is the creator of a live music Cabaret experience for LA audiences called Babylon Cabaret, now in its 3rd year and enjoying a monthly residency at El CID nightclub. Cliff has had a long career in the  music industry, arranging and playing on tracks for Alice Cooper, Haley Rhinehart, Cat Stevens), Smokey Robinson, Wanda Jackson, Billy Joel, Kiss, Sammy Hagar, Toots Hibbert, Sly and Robbie, Ann and Nancy Wilson of Heart, Garth Brooks, Dion and many others.

David Slaughter, Board Member

David Slaughter is a digital imaging specialist who is also a silent film collector and former manager of Los Angeles’ Silent Movie Theatre.  He was a film line up editor on Technicolor’s recent restoration of Orson Welles’ final film, The Other Side of the Wind.

Dino Everett, Board Member

Dino Everett, an active advocate for the public exhibition of archived films, has published numerous articles on the history of the moving image. Formerly an acquisitions agent for the UCLA Film Archive, Dino is currently archivist of the Hugh M. Hefner Moving Image Archive at the University of Southern California.

Iain Kennedy, Board Member

Iain Kennedy is an Emmy-nominated producer, writer and editor, known for his work on diverse projects, including television’s Biography series and documentary films including Citizen Stan (2004) and Shout Gladi Gladi (2015).  In 2010, he was the producer, writer and director of Palace of Silents, a definitive history of Hollywood’s fabled Silent Movie Theater.

Jeffrey Jon Masino, Board Member

Jeffrey Jon Masino is well known to silent film enthusiasts as a producer of important film restorations, including F.W. Murnau’s Phantom (1922 / 2003), Lewis Milestone’s Two Arabian Knights (1927 / 2004) and The Young Rajah (1922/2006) starring Rudolph Valentino. He is also the founder and owner of Flicker Alley, one of the world’s most important digital distributors of historic cinema.

Karie Lynn Bible, Board Secretary

Karie Lynn Bible, a well known expert in Hollywood history, co-authored the books Location Filming in Los Angeles (Images of America) (with Marc Wanamaker) and Hollywood Celebrates the Holidays: 1920 - 1970 (with Mary Mallory) and created the weekly online newsletter She has been an official tour guide for Hollywood Forever Cemetery for many years and has appeared on Turner Classic Movies, CNN and the History Channel.

Sean P. Malone, Board Member

Sean P. Malone is both a director of photography and a film professor with a keen interest in cinema origins, currently teaching at Vanguard University. His work on international pop star Ivo Mozart’s video, Se Namorar, has been seen more than three million times on YouTube. His cinematography has won awards at film festivals from Los Angeles to Miami. He co-founded Waterfoot Films, an independent film company, and is directing the upcoming sports documentary, Wild About ‘88.

Thomas Barnes, Founder & Executive Director

Thomas Guinn Barnes is an acknowledged silent film expert and collector, who since 2009 has programmed, hosted, and projected the successful silent film series Retroformat: Rare Silent Gems on 8mm and 16mm Film at The American Cinematheque’s historic Graumann’s Egyptian Theatre, drawing on his own extensive collection of rare 8mm and 16mm films.